Welcome to Oracleireland.com



Castles in County Mayo.

Ballylaghan Castle..

(Laughlan's townland.)

This castle was built by Jordan of Exeter in the thirteenth century. It was a polygonal courtyard castle with a twin towered gatehouse, only the remains of one of the towers are to be seen today.


Co Mayo
Tel +353
E Mail
Web Site


Aghalard Castle.

(Agha field.)

Aghalard was built in the fifteenth century by the MacDonnell's of Knocknacloy a gallowglasses family who served the Burkes of Mayo

It is a three storied ruined tower house standing in a polygonal Bawn.

The castle was captured in 1596 by Edward Brabazon, 1st Baron Ardee, Ulick Burke, 3rd Earl of Clanricarde and James Riabhach Darcy, however it was evacuated shortly afterwards upon hearing of the approach of Hugh Roe Ó Donnell. It remained in possession of the McDonnells until bought by Sir Benjamin Guinness in the 19th century.

Tourist Information
Co Mayo
Tel +353 (0)94 954 6542
E Mail
Web Site

Seasonal Tourist information only.
ialing from NI replace 094 with 048