Welcome to Oracleireland.com

 

 
 

Castles in County Limerick.


King John’s Castle.
 

This great Anglo-Norman keep less castle was begun in 1200 and completed in 1207, it was originally five sided and was reinforced with four round towers three of which survive, although they were lowered to accommodate heavy cannon. The entrance is on the north side with a twin towered gate house. The house inside the castle was built in the eighteenth century as a barracks

The castle possesses a formidable appearance yet it surrendered three times, to the confederate Catholics in 1641, to Cromwell's army under Henry Ireton in 1651, and the the Williamite army in 1691.

Experience 800 years of history in Limerick City. King John’s Castle is situated in the heart of Limerick’s Medieval Heritage Precinct, on the River Shannon at “Kings Island”.

The Castle was built between 1200 and 1210. It was repaired and extended many times over the following centuries. King John’s Castle remains a most impressive Anglo-Norman fortification. It retains many of the pioneering features which made its construction unique for its day. Its massive gatehouse, battlements and corner towers await exploration! Features include: • 13th Century Anglo-Norman Castle with panoramic views of Limerick City, the River Shannon and surrounding countryside.

The visitor centre contains an imaginative historical exhibition, which recounts the history of the castle in dramatic fashion. • Archeological excavations situated beneath the interpretative building include the earliest evidence of settled life in Limerick and evidence of siege mines.

The courtyard displays some of the trades and traditions of the 16th century. Visitors can also see the 13th century undercroft of theofficers’ quarters which were excavated in 1993-1995. • King John, as “Lord of Ireland”, minted his own coins and the Royal moneyer would have struck the coins in the Castle Mint. Exciting archeological excavations:

The visitor enters another world when exploring the exciting archeological excavations at King John’s Castle. These excavations have revealed pre-Norman houses which predate the castle. There is also evidence of the traumatic Castle siege of 1642. Mines, and countermines used to destroy them, were exposed.

In one clay tunnel, a period pistol was found. A reconstruction of one of the siege mines, also in situ, is an added attraction, enabling the visitor to experience something of the fearful atmosphere of those times. A life size statue of the Limerick poet Michael Hogan (1826 - 1899), Bard of Thomond is outside King Johns Castle.

King John’s Castle
King’s Island,
Limerick City,
County Limerick,
Tel +353 (0)61 36 0788
Fax +353 (0)61 36 1020
E Mail
Web Site

Limerick sculptor Jim Connolly has produced a six an a half foot bronze statue which stands on a plinth which is a replica of the plinth under the Treaty Stone.

The Bard is best remembered for his epic poem, Drunken Thady and the Bishops Lady.

 

 

Carrigogunnell Castle.
 

The original castle on this site was built by William de Burgh in the early thirteenth century, it is perched on a high volcanic rock overlooking the Shannon estuary. The ivy covered ruins visible to day consist of a four storey tower house and with a lower gabled tower adjoining date from the fifteenth and sixteenth century.

The castle surrendered to the Williamite army in 1691, and was later blown up by the orders of general Ginckel.

Tourist Information
Arthur's Quay
Limerick
Co Limerick
Tel +353 (0)61 317522
Fax +353 (0)61 317939
E Mail
Web Site

 

 

 

 

Glenquin Castle.
 

(Quin's glen.)

The history of this castle is a little obscure it is thought to have been built by the O'Hallinans. What we see today is a sixteenth century square tower house, it was repaired and re-roofed in the nineteenth century and again in the twentieth.

Tourist Information
Arthur's Quay
Limerick
Co Limerick
Tel +353 (0)61 317522
Fax +353 (0)61 317939
E Mail
Web Site

 

 

 

 

Glin Castle.
 

Glin Castle was the stronghold of the FitzGerald clan, who have inhabited the castle for over 800 years, it stands in a 500 acre wooded parkland on the banks of the river Shannon. The present Georgian style castle was built in the late 18th century.

The castle is open from March to October, offering comfortable antique furnished rooms, and excellent cuisine. In the grounds you can try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, tennis and archery.

Tabert
Co Limerick
Tel +353
E Mail
Web Site