Welcome to Oracleireland.com



Towns in County Dublin.


Dún Laoghaire.

(Laoghire's fort.)

Dunleary or Dún Laoghaire was formally known as Kingstown, it is seaport situated in County Dublin, south of the city of Dublin. The town received the name of Kingstown in 1821 when George IV visited the town but it reverted to Dún Laoghaire in 1920 after Irish independence. Dún Laoghaire in early times was a simple fishing village before the construction between the years of (1817-1859) of its large harbour, which was begun by John Rennie. The harbour covers about 101 hectares (250 acres) and varies in depth from 3 to 9 m (10 to 30 ft) according to the tide. A substantial fishing fleet is based in the harbour.

Dún Laoghaire is a busy ferry port with sailing's to Holyhead on the British mainland. Dún Laoghaire is the yachting centre of Ireland and has several yacht clubs including the National Yacht Club and the Royal Irish Yacht Club.



(Sword of St Colmcille)

Swords owes its origins to a monastery founded in 512 by St Colmcille, the name comes from the Gaelic, 'Sord' It is about 15 km (9 MI) north of the city of Dublin and about 5 km (3 MI) west of Malahide. Dublin Airport is immediately to the south. Many people commute to work at the airport and; local industries include chemical production and electronics. The town has many buildings of interest that are mainly 19th century, but there is also a 23-m (75-ft) early Christian round tower and a 14th century belfry tower. Swords’s castle was built as a fortified manor house from which diocesan estates in north Dublin were administered. http://www.socc.ie/~skerries.

In 1014 the church in Swords was the overnight resting place for the bodies of Brian Boru and his son Murchadh on their way from Clontarf to Armagh for burial.